LinkedIn Spring Cleaning

header_aloneI seem to be connected to many people on LinkedIn who have let the cobwebs accumulate on their profiles. I have connections who list jobs they left long ago as their current positions and others with invalid email addresses. In searches to find people, I also discover that some have more than one profile (and generally none are complete or updated.)

If LinkedIn isn’t a place where you want to be online, that’s OK. But you need to help those of us who are active on the platform by keeping the basics of your profile updated or removing your profile completely. Zombie profiles don’t help anyone.

Closing Your LinkedIn Account

You can close your only LinkedIn account on the Privacy & Settings page:

  1. Move your cursor over your photo in the top right of your homepage and select Privacy & Settings.
  2. Click Closing Your Account under the Subscriptions section of the Account tab.
  3. Check the reason for closing your account and click Next.
  4. Enter your account password and click Close account.

Removing Duplicate Accounts

Getting rid of duplicate accounts is a little trickier. To find your other account(s), search for your name on LinkedIn.

From your search results:

  • The profile with the YOU icon is the account where you’re currently signed in.
  • A profile containing your information that doesn’t have a YOU icon is a duplicate account.

The process for removing or merging duplicate accounts depends on a few factors, but LinkedIn offers step-by-step instructions for each case.